Jess goes gluten free: days 9, 10, and 11

So far this week I’ve stuck to my gluten free change and I dig it. I really do. However, I went for Mexican AGAIN yesterday and felt like so sick to my stomach and had the worst pain. I felt so bad too quite honestly because I felt like such a party pooper, but in all honesty I was in a lot of pain. The only negative thing I have to say about being gluten free is that I feel like an inconvenience when it comes to going to dinner with family or friends. It sucks because they are like, “Can you eat here?” and I can eat anywhere it is just my selection can sometimes be limited which stinks but I’m still down to going out! I just hope no one thinks that I’m in fact an inconvenience when it comes to dining out. I felt bad yesterday, extremely bad, the individuals I was with may or may not have seen me as over dramatic but until you go gluten free for some time then eat something with gluten, you can’t possibly understand how uncomfortable your body becomes.

Going forward I’m going to have to be extra careful when it comes to going out which creates an inconvenience in my life in itself, but I’ve felt much better from not consuming gluten. I’m not bloated, I sleep better, I (sorry I know TMI) poop more often, and I just feel like I have more energy which is great. I can’t wait to see my progress a month from now where I’ll really start seeing a difference. I’ve been shopping at different grocery stores to compare prices and what not. Stop & Shop is ridiculously expensive, more than Whole Foods which I was surprised. Whole Foods has an awesome selection of gluten free foods. Hell, they even have a dedicated aisle just for special diets which is rad! I also enjoy the fact that they do not have products in their store that has preservatives and nasty chemicals like aspartame. However, we all know Whole Foods can be on the pricey side but all in all it might be my favorite place to shop for my gluten free goodies. Shaw’s was outrageously priced as well and their selection was very limited like Market Basket. Market Basket obviously was the cheapest of the bunch and I got my waffles, wraps, and bagels for $2-$3 less than Whole Foods and Shaw’s but as I mentioned, their selection is very limited and they don’t have a designated aisle so trying to find gluten free treasures is very hard because it is all mixed with everything else.

I need to start making a weekly list of what I should buy as well whether it is fruit, veggies, snacks, or whatever. Dinner has probably been the hardest meal of the day to acquire because lets face it, I don’t want to cook when I get home from wherever I’ve been whether it is school or work. I’m tired and have other shit to do so I’ve been snacking or going out which isn’t so great for my wallet.

But going forward I’m going to make a great effort in meal planning and sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

