The age of tattoo enlightenment

When viewing individuals from my generation you will see a lot of tattoos. Different ideas, personal stories, and works of art can be found on the bodies of many young adults. There is a stigma though that is put on individuals with tattoos made by those who see them as distasteful and unprofessional. I guess I have a biased opinion seeing as I’m almost in the double digits in reference to my tattoo count, but I see all tattoos as beautiful, and unless you know the meaning behind each tattoo you see you shouldn’t be the one to pass any judgement. Those who decide to put ink on their bodies have every right to do so. Those who discriminate against these individuals do not know the gratification you receive when you put something meaningful on your body that will stay with you forever. Sure, I have seen some tattoos that just don’t make much sense to me but it is not my place to say if it is distasteful or not because as long as this said person is happy with their choice, then that is all that matters in my eyes. Everyone’s tastes, ideas, and life experiences are different so we must move forward on our journey to understanding and accepting everyone’s individuality because we can’t keep living in a close minded society. Yes, older generations see things differently than we do, but I know plenty of older folk that have sleeves and great stories to tell. Generation and culture shouldn’t dictate who is to blame when it comes to tattoo stereotyping because people of all ages do it. Whether it is someone who is in their eighties or a younger person, say in their twenties. That is why today I’m going to be putting together a photo project. I’m going to capture the tattoos on my body that mean something, and put them together in an artistic way that can create it’s own story. I’m proud to have my ink on my body, and I’m not afraid to share my stories with you. We as human beings need to stop jumping to the act of judging, but rather understanding. I hope that this project will open the eyes to some who find tattoos dishonorable, but rather see them as a chapter in a story that we all read, life.

I’m going to end this post with a quote from V. Vale who is Japanese-American writer and publisher, “A tattoo is a true poetic creation, and is always more than meets the eye. As a tattoo is grounded on living skin, so its essence emotes a poignancy unique to the mortal human condition.” I hope you find some enlightenment from this quote. The power behind it is intangible. Tattoos are like pieces of art, there is always more than what you see if you just take the time to dig beneath the surface.

You can find my project posted later tonight on my website: http://www.jesspalmer-photography.com and also on my Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/jesspalmerphotography thank you so much for all of your support.

Leave a Reply

